Rural Cemeteries

A rural life properly done, should come to end in a rural cemetery.

DSC00569

Sunset over a rural cemetery.

P6024957

Grave of a young child of German immigrants in Southwestern MN. Born March 1892 – Died August 1893.

P3304636

Rural cemetery with wonderful stone fence.

ND2A4563

Rural cemetery in the winter.

ND2A7119

Rural cemetery with my relatives in Southern Iowa

ND2A6306dpp

A rural church often has a rural cemetery

IMG_6158

Rural cemetery with wonderful gate

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rural Cemeteries

  1. That stone wall at Sacred Heart is incredible. I’ve never seen anything like it at a cemetery and I’ve seen many a country cemetery. Love these images.

  2. Jackie says:

    I am a lover of cemeteries, so I enjoyed your photo’s. I thought I was the only one out there taking pictures in cemeteries. Love the winter scene especially!

    • ryanware says:

      I like to photograph the country ones especially. This last summer I took a trip to Southern Iowa where my maternal grandfather’s family grew up. I found the country cemetery where my grandfather’s brothers are buried. It was neat to see. Also it’s an older one that was built when the stones were big and they didn’t have all the rules that make the modern cemetery gravesites look like modern subdivisions houses – all the same.

Leave a Reply

