Budejovice Church, Montgomery, Minnesota

A few months ago in the grips of cabin fever, I lashed out in a fit of defiance, and took a day off of work when the sun took occasion to shine.  As I’m wont to do, I got in the car and drove the country roads.  Sometimes the less idea I have of where I’m going the better.  Like most times, this technique paid off.

I came upon a wonderful country church and cemetery.  I didn’t’ realize at the time of taking the photos there is a great story behind the church.

St John's Chapel

Budejovice Chruch,  Montgomery, Minn

I Am The Way, Truth And Life - John XIV 6

I Am The Way, Truth And Life – John XIV 6

“Built in 1868 by Czech settlers who later moved to a bigger parish in Montgomery, the Budejovice Church had not been home to a congregation in more than a century.”.  The church was adopted by a caretaker and restored.  My words would only come up short, so watch the video.

Since the video it would appear the church has had the siding replaced, received a new roof and is having the steeple worked on and looks as in the photo below which is a similar angle to some of the shots in the video.

Budejovice Church, Montgomery, Minn

Budejovice Church, Montgomery, Minn

I couldn’t find any details about the new work.

References:

http://www.southernminn.com/lonsdale_area_news_review/news/local/article_c296fdb9-5c04-5617-a41c-58860d0efeef.html

 

This entry was posted in LESUEUR COUNTY MN and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Budejovice Church, Montgomery, Minnesota

  1. Great find, Ryan. I remember hearing this story.

    Could you email me with directions of how to find this church?

  2. Karen Smisek says:

    Highway 13 south from New Prague, West on Cty 26, South on 181st Ave So….the church and cemetery are about 1/4 mile on the right.

  3. Jim Delaney says:

    Just amazing! I can’t wait to visit. My new fiance and I would be honored and thrilled and willing to make a semi-significant donation to be married here. Any information on who we could talk to about this?

Leave a Reply

